From Nempont Saint-Martin to Dieppe

After saying goodbye to my host and the Selly Oak crew at the Hotel in Nempont I headed towards Forest-Montiers as I knew there was a campsite near by.

Almost as soon as I set off it started to rain and pretty much stayed that way all day.

Chilling in a bus stop on the Rue d'National in the rain

Chilling in a bus stop on the Rue d’National in the rain


It was a pretty shitty day and I was just grinding the kilometres when I saw this
Sign anyone?

Sign anyone?


In amongst all those signs is on for a camping site in Neuville(there are a lot of Neuville’s by the way) this one was next to Forest-Montiers and was directly on my planned route so I headed for there.
Kind of regret it as they charged 18euro to stay but it was still raining and had been for 6 solid hours.
Don't stay here it's over priced greatly and the bar is only open 3 days a week

Don’t stay here it’s over priced greatly and the bar is only open 3 days a week


I did have some time to wander around the village which took all of 10minutes.
Yeah a church but literally the only thing to see in Neuville

Yeah a church but literally the only thing to see in Neuville

Oh I almost forgot mention this, so I was walking in the rain in the middle of nowhere when this car with Bulgarian numbers plates which was heading in the opposite direction to me suddenly stopped and the passenger leans out of the window and shouts me over. So I wander over and he tries to sell me a gold chain from around his next some story about needing money desperately. It was like we are in the middle of nowhere, it’s raining, I am carrying 25kilo’s in a rucksack on my back what possible reason would I have to buy a gold chain at this point in time. After politely declining he headed off and so did I.

So after a very wet day and night I awoke to head on to the next stage towards Dieppe, the day would end in Friaucourt at a really nice municipal camp that was cheap with good facilities.

In between Forest-Montiers and Pontholio I came across this tribute to the Caudron brothers

Tribute to the Caudron brothers

Tribute to the Caudron brothers


The inscription

The inscription


Later at Noyelles-sur-Mer whilst having some breakfast at the station this pulled in.
One for the anorak brigade.

One for the anorak brigade.

It was another grey day as you can see by the pictures but at least there where some interesting sights to see.

Just another grey day on the road

Just another grey day on the road


Leaving the train behind I continued on to Vaudricourt.
Monument in Vaudricourt

Monument in Vaudricourt


Translation please

Translation please

Leaving Vaudricourt I continued on to Friaucourt by the time I get to Friaucourt I could hardly walk my feet and legs where screaming at me to stop. On the way though..

I think I've been spotted!

I think I’ve been spotted!

Luckily for my there was a campsite at Friaucourt so I got my tent up throw my rucksack inside it and went off in search of a beer at around 7:50pm, there where a couple of English blokes camping as well and they told me of a bar they had seen on the way into the site so I went in search of it.

When I got there it was just about to close but he allowed me a beer and we got talking for a while and the owner stayed open for me which then attracted more people so I stayed to watch the first half of the France vs Norway football game. Also scored 1 free drink!

The best little café in France?

The best little café in France?


Really good cheap camping site in Friaucourt highly recommended

Really good cheap camping site in Friaucourt highly recommended

The next day after another wet camp I set of towards Criel-sur-Mer.

War Memorial at Friaucourt

War Memorial at Friaucourt

I followed this valley to the end and also had an encounter with a fox in the undergrowth here

I followed this valley to the end and also had an encounter with a fox in the undergrowth here

This days journey took me through Eu and one of the nicest things that have ever happened to me. I was sitting on a bench just chilling for a while when from the 1st floor of a building across the road and old lady shouts down to me, now I could not really understand what she was saying but I thought it might be something about do I want something to eat. Anyway she vanished from the window for a few minutes and just as I was preparing to leave she returned to the window and shouted me over dropping a baguette in a bag into my hands, I thanked her and she returned back inside closing the window. Score one pate sandwich it tasted pretty good as well I can tell you.

War Memorial in Eu (I think)

War Memorial in Eu (I think)

I headed out of Eu towards Criel-sur-Mer which is about 20-25km from Dieppe getting there in the late afternoon, I had intended on camping a little further up the road at a place called Bivelle-sur-Mer but spying a sign for camping in Criel I decided to follow it and stop there for the night.
The camping turned out to be right on the coast and 4km from where the sign was!

War memorial at Criel-sur-Mer

War memorial at Criel-sur-Mer


Almost made it to the campsite, you can see it slightly to the left of centre up on the hills

Almost made it to the campsite, you can see it slightly to the left of centre up on the hills


England is that way

England is that way


Looking back towards Crial Plage from the campsite

Looking back towards Criel Plage from the campsite


To tired to go anywhere once I had pitched my tent I got a couple of beers from the camp shop and settled down for the night, then it started to rain and it rained pretty much all night. But the next day when I awoke I saw some blue skies for the first time in quite a while and it was nice to pack up a dry tent rather than a soaking one. The campsite was called Les Mouettes was pretty reasonably priced but had no wi-fi, there is a municipal camp just a little further down the road which has wi-fi but I have not idea of the tariff’s but it looked okay when I passed it the next day.

So finally I was on the road to Dieppe just outside Saint-Martin-En-Champagne I came across this memorial to the Canadians from Operation Jubilee in August 1942.
IMG_1853

IMG_1854
Now I have no idea why it is where it is, as it is quite a few km’s from Dieppe. I can only assume it has something to do with the captured Canadians. If anyone does know I would love to know the story.

I just thought this was a pretty idyllic scene

I just thought this was a pretty idyllic scene

I have booked myself into the Hotel Windsor in Dieppe which is right on the seafront, on getting here I had a shower got changed and went out in search of a supermarket to get some supplies intending to have a relaxing evening in my room with a few beers and some snacks after wandering around aimlessly in Dieppe centre not being able to locate said supermarket I returned towards the hotel stumbling on the Cambridge Pub. Needless to say I stopped in for a few beers and ended up getting involved in music quiz with some local residents.

It's called Grim for a reason truly terrible tasting beer!

It’s called Grim for a reason truly terrible tasting beer!


The winning quiz team

The winning quiz team

I’ll be honest I don’t remember a great deal of the night but it seemed like it was fun!

One fat Hotel cat!

One fat Hotel cat!

Today I explore Dieppe which I am just about to do.

Leave a Reply

