Day 6 Italy I wake up in an Apple Orchard

So I am up super early mainly because I am sleeping in someone’s orchard and farmers tend to get up really early. I have my tent and rucksack packed in record time and a few metres from the entrance to the orchard is a bench where I have a breakfast of apples picked straight from the tree, you really cannot ask for more than that!

Then I am off in the direction of Auer/Ora which is just under halfway from me to Trento and there is supposed to be camping there somewhere.

Next morning very early.

Next morning very early.

DSCF1040 DSCF1041 DSCF1042 DSCF1044 DSCF1045 DSCF1046 DSCF1047 DSCF1048 DSCF1049 DSCF1050

Italians take there cycling very very seriously and can get quite annoyed with people walking on the cycle paths or not getting out of there way when they are cycling along. It’s like a mini tour de france sometimes on the cycle paths. It was a really hot day and just at the turn off to Auer/Ora there was a bridge so I decided to take some shade before heading the couple of km in to the town. When this family of cyclist fully kitted out stopped under the bridge and had a bit of an argument as far as I could make out the young lad’s legs hurt and he wanted to stop or turn back. They didn’t see me as I was lay down on the other side of the fence having a smoke just chuckling to myself as they argument unfolded it went on for a good 15minutes before eventually he got back on his bike and started riding again.

DSCF1051

So after that little bit of drama I headed into Auer/Ora to see if I could find this camping site.

DSCF1052 DSCF1053 DSCF1054

Stopped here for an ice-cream and a coffee. Apparently they close for lunch like much of Italy it seems so they threw me out pretty quickly!

Stopped here for an ice-cream and a coffee. Apparently they close for lunch like much of Italy it seems so they threw me out pretty quickly!

This chap did give me a free bottle of water though and directions. Good man!

This chap did give me a free bottle of water though and directions. Good man!

This is also a campsite pretty pricey but the reception was a nice lass.

This is also a campsite pretty pricey but the reception was a nice lass.

My pitch and I got power!

My pitch and I got power!

That's what I call a bank.

That’s what I call a bank.

So I got to the tourist information office in Auer/Ora and it was closed for lunch 12:00 to 14:00 but luckily I found the camp site so I went and pitched up there before heading back into the heat to go to the tourist information office later. They couldn’t really help me with the maps I needed but they did what they could.

DSCF1060 DSCF1061 DSCF1062

I also discovered my first tent failure, I has to poles at each end which are tension by a bungy cord one of them has snapped, not a major deal and an easy repair but still.

DSCF1063

Whilst here I met a huge number of Netherlanders on holiday and had a few beers with Willem and his crew.

Everyone in this photo is dutch. Willem is the one in the white shorts

Everyone in this photo is Netherlander. Willem is the one in the white shorts

One thought on “Day 6 Italy I wake up in an Apple Orchard

  1. Man, I can’t believe you’re already in Italy! I’ve been trekking myself now for a few days and it’s really hard to keep up with everything going on. Are you just going to keep going south til you hit water?

    Like

Leave a Reply

